Gov. DeWine institutes mask order, effects travel advisory for those coming to Ohio

Effective at 6 p.m. Thursday, all Ohioans will be required to wear a mask in public places, an order signed Wednesday by Gov. Mike DeWine indicates.

The governor also gave a travel advisory for residents of certain states coming to Ohio that would have to self-quarantine for two weeks upon entering the state.

The mask order applies to all Ohioans except the following:

— Those with a medical condition or disability of those communicating with someone with a disability;

— Those who are exercising or playing sports;

— Those who are officiants at religious services;

— Those who are actively involved in public safety;

— Those who are actively eating or drinking.

“Wearing masks will make a difference,” DeWine wrote in a tweet. “It will determine what our fall looks like. We want kids to go back to school, we want to see sports — to do that it’s very important that all Ohioans wear a mask.”

The governor’s travel advisory currently pertains to nine states: Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, Alabama, Mississippi, Texas, Arizona, Nevada and Idaho. Any resident of those states coming to Ohio, or an Ohioan who travels to those states, would be asked to self-quarantine upon entering Ohio.

The governor, in ordering the travel advisory, cited the group of Belmont County students that traveled to Myrtle Beach and returned with COVID-19.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)