Northern Panhandle Counties All ‘Green’ On Latest W.Va. COVID-19 School Map

Despite a spike in cases over the past week in local counties, all Northern Panhandle counties are “green” according to the latest The West Virginia Department of Education map.

This past week saw both Wheeling Park High School and John Marshall High School close for positive COVID-19 cases among students and staff. Both schools remain closed Monday and Tuesday, with a return to in-person instruction to be reassessed during the week.

Red counties (Substantial Community Transmission): Counties must move to remote learning. No extracurricular competitions or practices are permitted. Wyoming is red.

Orange (Heightened Community Transmission): Remote learning required. Extracurricular activities are limited to conditioning only and sport-specific practicing is not permitted. Orange counties include Berkeley, Boone, Braxton, Mingo, Monroe, Wayne and Wirt.

Gold (Elevated Community Transmission): In-person instruction permitted with increased mitigations including face coverings for children grades 3 and above at all times. Gold counties include Doddridge, Jackson, Kanawha, Logan, Morgan, Pendleton and Webster.

Yellow (Increased Community Transmission): Counties will continue with in-person instruction. Extracurricular practices and competitions may occur. Yellow counties include Cabell, Clay, Jefferson, Lewis, Lincoln, Mercer, Ritchie, Roane and Summers.

Green (Minimal Community Transmission): Extracurricular practices and competitions may occur.

All other state counties including Ohio, Marshall, Brooke, Hancock, Wetzel and Tyler, are green.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today