Oak Glen’s Zach Taylor Is Third Team All-State

Photo by Kyle Lutz Oak Glen’s Zach Taylor (24) was named third team all-state in Class AA by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

CHARLESTON — During his junior campaign, Oak Glen’s Zach Taylor was the defensive shut down guy for the Golden Bears. He quickly transition to their best offensive weapon in his final year at Oak Glen. Taylor scored 18.1 points and per game. He also had three games over 30 points. Taylor also showed he was a force on the boards as he grabbed seven rebounds per game. With such impressive numbers, Taylor was named third team all-state by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Obinna Anochili-Killen has been a force that Class AA hasn’t seen in a long while.

The 6-foot-9 center-forward from Chapmanville Regional, a dominant defender and rebounder for four seasons, has also developed into an offensive dynamo in recent years, keeping the Tigers squarely among the few and true contenders for a state championship.

That devastating combination has also elevated Killen, a Marshall recruit, into the role of first-team captain on the Class AA All-State squad, as selected by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Other first-team honorees include Braeden Crews (Bluefield), David Early (Logan), Jaelin Johnson (Fairmont Senior), Luke LeRose and Tommy Williams (Shady Spring), Bryson Lucas (Robert C. Byrd) and Isaac McKneely (Poca).

Crews — The 5-10 senior averaged a team-high 19.7 points for the Beavers (21-3), who wound up ranked No. 2 in the final state poll and advanced to the Region 3 co-finals. Crews also averaged 4.4 assists, 4.1 rebounds and 2.7 steals, canned 66 3-point field goals and pushed his career total to 1,306 points.

Early — A 6-4, 240-pound senior and Marshall commit, he became the top scorer in Logan’s long and illustrious basketball history with more than 2,200 career points. He averaged 27.8 points, 12.1 rebounds, 3.1 assists and 1.8 steals this season, and turned in 11 double-doubles, sparking the Wildcats (16-8) into the Region 4 co-finals.

Johnson — A 6-4 junior, he helped the rebuilding Polar Bears (12-12) get back into the Region 1 co-finals, leading the team in scoring (19.5), rebounds (6.9), steals (41) and minutes played (30-plus). Johnson also shot 56 percent overall from the floor and averaged nearly two assists per game.

LeRose — A 6-0 senior, he transferred from Nicholas County and had a solid impact on the Tigers (22-2), who wound up No. 3 in the state poll and reached the Region 3 co-finals. LeRose averaged 16.7 points and sank 53 3s, upping his career scoring total to 2,143 points, 15th-highest all-time in West Virginia.

Lucas — The 6-5 junior was a force all over the floor as the Eagles (22-2) ended up No. 4 in the state poll and carried a 22-game winning streak into the Region 2 co-finals. Lucas led RCB in scoring (14.5), rebounds (8.1), assists (3.0), steals (2.8), deflections (43) and blocked shots (36) and shot 52 percent from the field.

McKneely — The 6-3 sophomore elevated his game, helping the Dots (21-3) earn the No. 6 spot in the final poll and a berth in the Region 4 co-finals. McKneely tops Poca in scoring (22.0), steals and deflections and also averages four rebounds and three assists. His assist-to-turnover ratio is an outstanding 2.5 and he’s already less than 30 points away from 1,000 for his career.

Williams — A 6-2 senior, he topped the Tigers in scoring (20.0) as his team picked up five wins against Class AAA contenders (George Washington, Woodrow Wilson, Capital, South Charleston twice), beat RCB and won once against Bluefield. Williams, who has scored 1,220 career points, has signed with Glenville State.

Killen, Crews, Early and LeRose are all repeat first-team selections from last year, while McKneely and Williams were on the second team. The captain of this year’s second team is Drew Hatfield of Mingo Central.

First Team

Obinna Anochili-Killen, Chapmanville, Sr. (Captain)

Braeden Crews, Bluefield, Sr.

David Early, Logan, Sr.

Jaelin Johnson, Fairmont Senior, Jr.

Luke LeRose, Shady Spring, Sr.

Bryson Lucas, Robert C Byrd, Jr.

Isaac McKneely, Poca, Soph.

Tommy Williams, Shady Spring, Sr.

Second Team

Drew Hatfield, Mingo Central, Sr. (Captain)

Jansen Knotts, Frankfort, Sr.

Sean Martin, Bluefield, Sr.

Khori Miles, Robert C Byrd, Sr.

Brayden Miller, Roane County, Jr.

Gunner Murphy, North Marion, Sr.

Nick Stalnaker, Bridgeport, Sr.

Jadyn Stewart, Braxton County, Sr.

Third Team

Austin Ball, Man, Soph.

Gavin Barkley, Berkeley Springs, Soph.

Jared Cannady, Independence, Sr.

Jon Hamilton, Scott, Sr.

Kolton Painter, Nitro, Soph.

Shad Sauvage, James Monroe, Soph.

Andrew Shull, Chapmanville, Sr. (Captain)

Zach Taylor, Oak Glen, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Gavin Asterino, East Fairmont; Jagger Bell, Scott; Jack Bifano, Bridgeport; Ethan Blackburn, Westside; David Blanco, Frankfort; John Blankenship, Lincoln County; Grant Bonner, Herbert Hoover; Nick Bryant, Wayne; Hunter Bush, Point Pleasant; Braden Chapman, Shady Spring; Praise Chukwudozie, North Marion; Jacob Clark, Oak Glen; Brody Danberry, Sissonville; Jack Faulkner, Grafton; Christian Frye, Winfield; Kyle Gannon, Lewis County; Elijah Gillette, Weir; Mitchell Hainer, Logan; Jahiem House, Bluefield; Gavin Kennedy, Robert C Byrd; Ryan Leep, Lincoln; Jason Manns, Oak Hill; Jesiah Matlick, Philip Barbour; Michael McKinney, Independence; Peyton Meadows, PikeView; Hunter Morris, Winfield; Phillip Mullins, Chapmanville; Kaulin Parris, Bluefield; Jacob Perdue, Oak Hill; Colten Pritt, Clay County; Daniel Reed, Westside; Noah Rittinger, Poca; Shawn See, Keyser; Ryan Shoemaker, Keyser; Zach Snyder, Lincoln; Kolby Stiltner, Wayne; Kobey Taylor-Williams, PikeView; Tyler Toler, Braxton County; Joseph Udoh, Sissonville; A J Williams, Liberty (Raleigh).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)