X logo

Today's breaking news and more in your inbox.

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

You may opt-out anytime by clicking "unsubscribe" from the newsletter or from your account.

18th OVAC Hall of Fame Banquet Slated Tonight at Belmont

The Ohio Valley Athletic Conference will honor its own once again tonight when the 18th OVAC Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony takes place with the induction of the Class of 2022. Dowler Hall on the campus of Belmont College will be the site of this year’s banquet, which is sponsored by the Robinson Auto Group.

A total of 20 individuals associated with the conference will take their place among the elite who have helped make the OVAC — embarking on its 80th year — one of the premier high school athletic leagues in the nation.

This year’s inductees include:

OVAC ‘Family’ – Dr. Dianna Vargo

OVAC ‘Contributor – Henry ‘Hen’ Healy

Media – Seth Staskey

Coaches – Dave Cisar of Magnolia and Terry Depew of Linsly

Officials – Mike Coyne and Edmund DiBacco

1950s Athletes – Jim Capito of Bellaire and Roger Holdinsky of Moundsville

1960s Athletes – Bob Bruney of Martins Ferry and Gary ‘Tony’ Marvin of Wheeling

1970s Athletes – Courtney Snyder of Steubenville and Richard Summers of Sistersville

1980s Athletes – Lori Heady of Buckeye Trail and Jeff Woofter of Oak Glen

1990s Athletes – Darin Ford of Cambridge and Curtis McGhee of Wheeling Central

2000s Athletes – Stephanie Morgan of Barnesville and D.J. Duke of River

2010s Athlete – Teddi Jo Maslowski of Steubenville Catholic Central

Five “Legends of OVAC Member Schools” will also be recognized at the banquet, including Johnny August of Shadyside, Al Christopher of Caldwell, Allan Collins of Morgantown, Jim Monigold of Conotton Valley and Julie Wheeler of Morgantown. The “Legends” category recognizes athletes and coaches who competed prior to the inception of the OVAC in 1943 or while their schools were not members of the conference.

The Dennis Magruder Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Brooke County Schools.

Plaques of the OVAC Hall of Fame inductees are on permanent display in the outer concourse at WesBanco Arena in Wheeling, WV as part of the OVAC Museum.

John Sorrenti, former sports director of WEIR radio, will again serve as master of ceremonies while Dr. Vince Monseau will offer the invocation and benediction.

Dinner will be served at 5:30 p.m. and the induction ceremony starts at 6:30. No tickets will be sold at the door.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.73/week.

Subscribe Today